WHO YOU ARE DEPENDS ON THE OCCASION

Meeting people from the high end class can be interesting. There is something common with the way they expect you know them and should treat differently. So the other day one of these famous comedians of the earlier dates comes. I have a way of peeping through the window so by the time you get to me I already saw you coming up the steps so am not surprised by your presence. It feels good to meet him, but I wont for a moment act like I feel privileged. So I act composed, give him a simple ‘good morning’ and tell him to have a seat. He is giving me this look of really? you do not know me or you just pretending not to notice my presence. How can you keep me waiting am a busy man.

I love putting people in their position. You are famous, I agree. You are a busy man, I agree. I should know you, who doesn’t. You came and found these other clients waiting, they came in before you for God’s sake. Just sit down and wait! doesn’t matter who you are, what you do, where you are coming from or where you are going. If you are the kind that does not know what patience feels like, you should have come earlier.

So just to let him know that I just don’t feel like favoring him over my fellows, I call him by his stage name, and we smile, happily, but for different reasons.

Leave a comment